England at the 2022 World Cup: who is in Gareth Southgate’s 26-man squad?

Nov 14 (Reuters) – England are looking to win their second World Cup title in the Nov. 20-Dec. 18th tournament in Qatar. Here’s what you need to know about their squad:

How many England players are allowed to take to Qatar?

* Teams will be able to select up to 26 players for this year’s World Cup after FIFA increased the maximum squad limit by three in June, citing the unusual timing of the tournament as well as the impact of COVID-19. happened

*Coaches have until November 14 at 1800 GMT to decide on the final list of 26 players.

Who is in England’s 2022 World Cup squad?

The England squad was announced on 10 November.

* Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Everton goalkeeper Pickford has been Southgate’s first choice since the 2018 World Cup and started every game at last year’s European Championship.

Pope’s form for Newcastle appears to have sealed his place as Pickford’s deputy, while Ramsdale’s impressive performances at Arsenal have seen his inclusion in favor of Nottingham Forest loanee Dan Henderson. has done

Also Read :  World Cup security guard dies after fall at Lusail Stadium

* Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Cody (Everton, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City ), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal).

Southgate opted for four specialist full-backs and five players who feature primarily centrally after injuries to Chelsea full-backs Reece James and Ben Chilwell depleted his options.

Walker has overcome fitness concerns while White has been rewarded with an excellent season. Southgate retained faith in Maguire despite his poor club form which resulted in him being left out of the United squad.

* Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Calvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United).

Phillips recovered from a shoulder injury in time to make the cut despite lacking match fitness. Gallagher shone for Palace last season and put himself on Southgate’s radar, earning a place at Chelsea despite being underused.

Also Read :  Helicopter crash near Kyiv kills 16, including Ukraine's interior minister

Teenager Bellingham will look to be an energetic presence and look for opportunity, while Rice will provide a solid shield in front of the defense as well as a driving force in the middle of the pitch.

* Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea). , Callum Wilson (Newcastle United).

Madison and Wilson earned their first call-ups in three years after strong starts to the domestic season.

Rashford also returns to the fold after finding goalscoring form this season and will partner talisman Kane in the striking department.

Who are the notable omissions?

* Southgate missed out on several in-form players including defender Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), midfielder James Ward Prowse (Southampton) and forwards Tammy Abraham (AS Roma) and Ivan Toni (Brentford), all of whom are recent. Included in the squad.

Which teams will England face in the group stage?

Also Read :  Anwar Ibrahim named Malaysia's 10th prime minister

England will face Iran, Wales and USA in Group B.

Who was in the England squad for the 2018 World Cup?

Twelve of the 26 players called up on Thursday were part of the squad that reached the semi-finals under Southgate in Russia, where they lost to Croatia in extra time.

* Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: John Stones (Manchester City), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Young (Manchester United). , Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotpur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotpur), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester). City).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotpur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Compiled by Hritika Sharma in Bengaluru, edited by Ed Osmond.

Our Standards: Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button